My Cadbury Egg Campaign

(I realize that it is only the middle of November.  Easter candy does not come out for another three months.  That is all.  I’m not going to attempt to justify my fixation on Cadbury EggsI just needed to point out how out of place this post is.)

 

It all began in March of 2007.  I remember eating a Cadbury Egg in my dorm room and thinking, that seemed less substantial. At first I didn’t dwell on it.  After all, it had been an entire year since my last Cadbury Egg, and I probably just forgot what eating one was like.  Then I ate another one.  Once again it didn’t seem right to me.  So I checked the Cadbury website.

They haven’t gotten smaller, you’ve gotten bigger!

That is what it said on the site.  Well isn’t that odd.  Clearly, something was amiss.

A few more weeks passed, and I began to tell my friends that I believed the eggs had shrunk.  In general, they didn’t buy into my conspiracy.  Then a stroke of luck!  B.J. Novak, the actor who plays Ryan on The Office, appeared on the Conan O’Brien show.  He informed the crowd that he had made it a habit to store Cadbury Eggs in his freezer so that he could eat them throughout the year.  Lifting them up for comparison, no one could now deny the truth.  The Cadbury Egg had been downsized.

2006 egg on left/ 2007 egg on right

 

 

The truth exposed, I then experienced some frustration.  How could Cadbury do this?  I would never eat a true creme egg ever again.  Defeated, I let the issue go.

 

Now it’s 2008.  The Cadbury Egg returns and I wonder if they smartened up and returned them to their original size.  Of course, they did not.  But instead of giving up, I beefed up my investigation.  After some searching, I discovered something incredible.  Cadbury Eggs  had only been downsized (dropped from 39 to 34 grams)  in the United States.  In England and Canada they were still being made 39 grams.   Here’s the reason…

Cadbury products are distributed in the US by Hershey.  They decided to shrink the egg and sell it at the same price in order to curb production and delivery costs.  Apparently, they were hoping that people wouldn’t notice.  But after the big reveal, the website stated that the eggs had been downsized.

Around Februrary-March of 2008, I was made aware of some people traveling in Canada and throughout Europe.  My friend, John, had a Canadian friend who thought he could deliver big on a box of 39 gram eggs.  The other person could not deliver.  So, this Canadian friend returned with a large box (at least 35)  of eggs.

This was a sweet victory.  I finished the last of these this past summer.  But the story isn’t over yet…

 

Kraft Foods has purchased Cadbury.  I do not know what this means.  Chances are, nothing will change.  Nevertheless, it makes me uneasy.  Cadbury was based in the UK.  Could its soul now be lost?  I hope not.  There’s more…

This past year, Canada shrunk its Cadbury Egg to 34 grams, to match our own.  That means that the UK is the only place left to make them in their former glory.  One final stronghold.  And one more thing…

I have discovered that Cadbury Eggs in the UK have always been 40 grams.  That means that they are even larger than the ones we used to get.

Anyone going to England this Easter?

Posted on November 15, 2010, in Nonsense. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. as a resident of the UK this term, I will say that Cadbury is everywhere. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

