100th Post Extravaganza! Or, How I Fell in Love With Lady Gaga

 

Here we are at 100 posts.  I thought, on this occasion,  I would look back on a few of the best and worst posts of the past 99.

The Worst

Failed Attempts at Writing Fiction: (August 8th) I just copied and pasted the opening paragraphs to a bunch of my old stories.  This was pretty lazy and I would imagine boring to read.

Short People Got No Reason to Live: ( August 25) This consisted of a long rant about being short.  This received absolutely no response from anyone.  After reading it over, I can see why.  It ended with the line,  “Height is relative. Tell that to the short, lonely, sad, poor man dying of a heart attack.”

Conspiracy Theorist Theorizes That Conspiracy Theories Are Part of Larger Conspiracy: (September 27) I think the title says it all.  It was a made up interview from the future in which Highlights for Kids questions a conspiracy author.  Solid gold premise, but poor execution.

Gods of Truth:  (November 26)  This was very recent.  Since I started using WordPress, I have been able to check the popularity of each post.  On average, a post receives 20 views after a couple of days.  This one has had the fewest since I’ve been keeping track.  It has 2.   I’m not sure why.

 

The Best

California Gurlz: A Floozy in Candyland: (October 5) By a significant margin, this is the most viewed of all my recent (past two months) posts.  It has 52 views; while the second place one has 37.  I really do get a kick out of analyzing popular music.  I had a lot of fun writing it, and that translates into a fun read.

The Joy of Friendship Series: (Mid October) I enjoyed reflecting on what it means to be a friend and where the joy in friendship comes from.  I know a few people were bored by this, but it came straight from the heart.

Elementary Hell: The Worst Year of My Life:  (September 1)  People seemed to get a kick out of this account of my miserable days as a First Grader.

God and the Shawshank Redemption: (November 24)  This was posted only last week, but it is already one of the top 3 in terms of popularity.  I looked into the biblical elements woven into the movie, The Shawshank Redemption.

My Thoughts on Glenn Beck (And Jon Stewart Too): (September 24) Once in a while I attempt to tackle more serious topics.  This was one of the most difficult things I’ve written in blog form since it focused on the controversial figure, Glenn Beck.  But I am pleased with the end result.

A New Kind of Christianity Series: (May)  After reading Brian McLaren’s book, I responded over the course of five posts.  It was an in-depth (for a blog anyway) analysis of a new movement within Christianity.

 

My All Time Favorite Post


What Lady Gaga is Truly Saying: (August 10)  This was easily the most entertaining and rewarding blog writing experience thus far.  This might disappoint some.  But I’d be lying if I claimed any other before it.  I view this post as the unofficial beginning of my blog.  What I mean is, this was the first post to truly capture the spirit of what I’m trying to do.  It deals directly with popular culture while offering insights into the true human condition.  It is at once entertaining and informative.  And it led to a crush with Lady Gaga that continues to this day.

 

After 100 posts, I am curious if you have any particular favorite, or least favorite.  If you read my blog regularly, I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Everything Else, Nonsense, Politics, Popular Culture, Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Elementary Hell: The Worst Year of My Life was my favorite

Leave a Reply

