Cutting the Facebook Cord (At Least For Now)

Many of you are now aware, or are just about to be made aware of my decision to deactivate my Facebook account.  In my first blog post since cutting the social networking cord, I figured I would explain my motivation.

A few months ago I almost left Facebook, but my friend Nate convinced me that it was important as an advertisement for this blog.  That was a convincing argument, so I let it be.  I knew that many people reached the blog via Facebook.  It just didn’t make sense to sacrifice that for the sake of preserving some of my sanity.

Yesterday, my friend Becca gave me an “Evils of Facebook” speech which I sort of agreed with, and sort of laughed off.  I didn’t think much of it, but apparently a seed had been planted.  Later in the day, I read a book by Philip Yancey called Finding God in Unexpected Places.  I read a section about our modern culture, and how it relates to Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World.  We are driven by a need for pleasure and sensory stimulation.  This is undoubtedly true, and Facebook serves as a great provider.  Here is my analysis:

The soil had already been cultivated in me after years of feeling dirty due to overusing Facebook.  It occupied way too much of my time and attention.  I often found myself thinking in terms of status updates.  That’s insane.  All it took was Becca to plant that seed of conviction and Yancey to water it with the water of revelation for the plant of truth to spring forth.  The truth is, I am addicted to Facebook.

Accepting that I have an unhealthy relationship with the social networking site, I decided to cut the cord.  I am tired of reading about how busy people are, or how angry people are.  I am tired of checking the news feed twenty times a day.  I am tired of living vicariously through a computer screen.  Not to say that you should be too, but for me, I needed a break.

I don’t intend to live sans Facebook forever.  Perhaps in a few weeks or months I’ll decide that it is time to return with a healthier mindset.  But, for now, I am deactivated.  And honestly, it feels good.

 

(If you read this blog regularly, and you used to find it through Facebook, I recommend subscribing.  All you have to do is click on the button to the right that says “Sign me up!” and it will send an email to you every time I update.  Otherwise, you can just add it to your bookmarks and check up once in a while.  I will be writing at the same pace as before, so check often.  I have some good ideas for Christmas related posts.)

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Popular Culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I hear ya, why do yo think I use that thing ONLY for writing purposes? I never really understood the whole facebook thing after I deleted my myspace at age 18. Let’s hope it doesn’t suck me in, too.

    • ha! you’d be surprised, Ash. I have to deactivate mine when I’m writing a paper or studying for finals. It’s pretty sad.
      Good thing I’m subscribed.

  2. I finally made your blog. Such a special day. Don’t you worry; I subscribe through Google Reader…even though Google is also taking over the world a la 1984. Nothing is safe; Big Brother is watching you. lol.

  3. I am saddened by this.

    Both saddened and a bit jealous, though I’m glad this is only a temporary thing.

Leave a Reply

