When Hope Becomes Reality

When we hope in or for something, I hope we are hoping for something better than hope.  To put it another way, when we hope for something, that thing should be better than hope itself.  To put it even another way, hope should be based on the belief that what is hoped for, when obtained and made a reality, will be more fulfilling than the idealized longing that preceded it.

For quite some time, I have been motivated by hope.  But now it appears as if some of this hope is becoming a reality.

 

I’m at an incredible moment in my life.  It’s incredible for what has happened, and it’s incredible for what could potentially happen. 

About a month ago, I met a girl.  Her name is Nicole.  I knew almost immediately that Nicole was something special.  As I get to know her more, I am taken aback by her beautiful heart and awesome personality.  Here is a good woman.  Here is an intelligent, sweet, honest, hilarious woman who not only exists, but also acknowledges that I exist.  I’d say that’s a good place to start.  Is she for real?  Incredibly, yes.

Recently, I have also been pursuing a job at a publishing company.  Last week I had a phone interview, and this Wednesday I have a legit face to face interview.  I have never been this close to obtaining a job in the field I want to get into.  Naturally, this has taken up a good deal of my time and attention.

 

Since graduating from UMass, much of my motivation has come from hope.  I have hoped and believed that God had a good future for me.  And even though my life had been largely uneventful, post-graduation, I felt in my heart that those things that I was hoping for would someday become a reality.  At this moment in my life, I am beginning to experience the transition from hope to reality. And so far, hope has been put to shame.

 

 

I want you to know that I am still very much devoted to this blogThough the events in my life as of late have shifted my attention, I am still passionate about writing in this capacity.  I have a number of good ideas for posts that I have been tossing around, and I can’t wait to share them with you.

Posted on January 17, 2011, in Everything Else and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m glad to see that you’re so happy with life. After studying abroad, I learned a lot about myself and have lately been very happy, which makes me really appreciate reading a happy blog that you posted. A lot of the time I also hope, and am disappointed by hope. What has surprised me is that over the past few months, God has confirmed some of my hopes that I wasn’t sure would ever happen, as I’m sure you are feeling now. Keep it up, and I’ll pray for you that you get that dream job.

Leave a Reply

