Walking With Christ

Sometimes ideas float around in our heads for hours or days.  Sometimes they simmer in our minds for months or even years.  For a good stretch of time I have thought about writing on what it means to live as a Christian in this place and at this time.  Certainly, I have addressed this from time to time in past blog posts, but I have never made it the focus.  Now is the time to brush aside the excess and the filler in order to see what’s really going on.  It’s time to cut to the chase, get to the point, and to get on with it already.  In the clearest and most honest way possible I intend to reveal exactly what it means to “walk with Christ.”   I’m tired of the jargon.  Only straight talk from here on out.   Here it goes.

My intentions, so you know precisely where I’m coming from, are to identify critical areas of confusion regarding the Christian faith, and also to explain boldly and unashamedly what it means to live for Jesus Christ in this present age.  Having lived in my culture for twenty-four years, and having actively pursued a life of faith for about five,  I am confident that I can address these things with a high level of competence and conviction.

You may find this of interest even, and maybe especially, if you identify yourself as non-religious, atheist, agnostic, or simply secular.  Everyone appreciates honesty, and every intelligent person appreciates knowledge.  I aim to provide you with the inside scoop.  I’m going to show you the dark underbelly of Christianity.  Much of it isn’t pretty, but all of it is true.  That is my solemn vow to you.

Who am I to speak about these things?  I’m not a missionary on the front lines of some foreign battlefield.  I’m not a spiritual leader faced with the burdens of many under my care.  Heck, I’m not even a husband or father or anyone with buckets of real world responsibility.  What I am is a regular guy who knows the love and life of God.  And since most of us are regular people, I suppose it makes sense for one of us to speak plainly on this topic.  If we always waited for the right time or circumstance before taking action I doubt anyone would have children, or anything else of real value.

I’m tired of the jargon.  I’m tired of tiptoeing around the simple truths of the gospel message.  I’m tired of the confusion and fruitless banter.

In the following posts I intend to speak plainly.

I hope you’re ready.

 

Posted on March 16, 2011, in Religion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bring it on. 😉

  2. I’m really excited about this 🙂 I’m hoping that some good discussions come from your future posts. I’m going to call your series, “Christianity In The Buff.” And no, I’m not referring to a bunch of nude church-goers. Rather, Christianity stripped of the misconceptions that mask the truth of God’s love. Not to mention what Christians have failed to do, or do poorly, when sharing the “simple truths of the gospel message.” I know that there are times in my own life when I have not demonstrated what I say I believe. And unfortunately, my shortcomings as a human have allowed me to misrepresent Jesus and push people away from him rather than toward his truth and love. You have a lot to tackle on this subject, my friend. It’s time to roll up those sleeves and start typing!

Leave a Reply

