Never Settle for Dissatisfaction

Are you satisfied?

There are big questions looming over all of us.  Why are we here?  Is there even a why?  If there is, who’s why matters?  Why do we have such a capacity to feel pain and comprehend evil?  Where does this sense of justice come from?  Does my life have a purpose beyond the other animals?  Is there a God?  Which God is the real one?  Which faith is the right one?  Is there an afterlife?  Is anything true, or is it all perception?  What is good?  Why do the people I love eventually suffer and die?  What is consciousness?  Who am I?

I think that all of us wrestle with these questions to some degree on a day to day basis.  I also think that most of us are not satisfied with the answers ,or lack thereof.  But the crazy thing is that many of us don’t do anything about it.  How many people do you know who settle on something, like a religion, throughout their entire life without ever really finding deep satisfaction?  Maybe they think that they can’t get an answer, so they stop looking.  Or, perhaps they have grown weary with constant dissatisfaction, and have found comfort in blissful ignorance.  Whatever the case, many people are living lives of quiet desperation.

Alright Dave, now shut up.  I know I know.  I’m a 20-something with little experience.  No kids, no wife, no hard earned authority in the arena of life.  But I’m an observer and a thinker and a seeker of the truth, and though I have found my satisfaction in Jesus Christ, I keep asking the hard questions and try to challenge people to do the same.  If you get too comfortable with your “rightness” it leads to pride and ignorance.  I want to be challenged because I have faith that what I believe can withstand the barrage of life’s toughest questions.    If I’m not satisfied with something, I ask questions, seek answers, and keep at it until I’m knocking at the door of truth.   And the reason I write blog posts like this one is that I have found great value in honest introspection, and hope to encourage you to do the same.  Take it or leave it.

If you’re not satisfied with something, don’t settle for that.  If you feel that you’re wasting your time sitting in church, ask yourself why you’re there.  If you want to know your life has a purpose, but you are turned off by philosophy and religion, simply talk to real people and see what they have to say about it.  These questions are way too important to ignore, and you are way too important to settle for someone else’s answers.  Know what you believe, and own it.

For the love of God, never settle for dissatisfaction.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Everything Else, Religion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. In essence you are saying that if you aren’t satisfied with your job, that supports your family, just up and leave and find a new one. If you aren’t satisfied with your marriage for a week or a month because the going gets tough just go out and find a new spouse.

    I disagree. I think dissatisfaction is needed and a good thing in life. It teaches perserverence!

    Did Moses just stop wandering around the desert after 1 year, or 10 years because he was dissatisfied with where God was leading them? God is dissatisfied with us every day and does he just abandon us? When Jesus was being tormented and dragging the cross, did he just drop it and run away? No.

    For the love of God, I say persevere. In the times when we are dissatisfied, we néed to turn to Christ and trust in His plan for us!

    • I agree with you completely. 100% I agree with you. If I gave the impression that I was supporting an Elizabeth Gilbert, “Eat Pray Love” attitude, I communicated my message poorly. I am not saying that if you are dissatisfied with life, you should drop your difficult responsibilities and commitments and pursue a life of pleasure and ease. If anything, I am saying the opposite.

      When I speak of dissatisfaction I am speaking of it in terms of a lack of self worth and a sense of purpose. You can lack these things and still persevere for the sake of family and societal expectations, but you will always feel deeply dissatisfied with your lack of meaning. Sure, you can try to find meaning solely through work and family, and many people try hard to do this, but in the end you haven’t done the hard work of facing the tough questions of purpose and God. What I’m saying isn’t that people should drop their responsibilities. What I’m saying is that people shouldn’t just settle for a life of mediocrity by dodging the difficult questions, and they should have a greater sense of who they are which in theory should make them a better spouse, parent, and employee.
      Amy, how many people blame their deep sense of dissatisfaction on their job or their spouse when in fact it is coming from a deeper place that only God can satisfy? What if these people would only ask, seek, and knock as a result of trying to find an answer to that deeper longing?

      You cited the example of Moses wandering in the desert. What I was trying to say is that many people are like the Hebrews living in Egypt. They are in bondage, but in a spiritual/mental sense. Instead of seeking a Promised Land (a place of deep satisfaction) by wrestling with tough questions and facing the reality of God, they would rather linger in familiar Egypt where at least they know they will be fed.

      As Christians we absolutely must trust Christ when the going gets tough (and when it’s easy) and when we don’t know the answers. But we also must go to Him with our deepest groanings, and an expectation that our misery, doubts, and dissatisfaction will soon be answered with greater joy and satisfaction as a result of moving closer to the truth, which is moving closer to God Himself.

Leave a Reply

