The Purpose of My Blog

I’m a creature of purpose.  If I believe an action serves no purpose, it is extremely difficult for me to complete it.  Forcing myself to read a Calculus textbook comes to mind.  This blog has a purpose.  I want to write about it now.

First and foremost, this blog exists as a means for me to write.  To put it another way, I write to write.  I like to write, so I write.  I need to write in order to sustain and inevitably improve my abilities.  Since this is my main purpose, I can cover a wide range of subjects that span from the meaning of life to Lady Gaga.  If this was not my focus, it would not make sense for me to jump around from serious topics to silly ones and then back again.

Second, (or is it secondly? Who am I talking to?)  this blog exists to give a coherent voice to the Christian community of which I am a member of.  I have long felt that my people are misunderstood and misrepresented in our culture.  I also recognize that a good many prominent Christian leaders (both preachers and politicians)  misrepresent the Christian way.  The image that many have of an American Christian is not pretty, so I desire to clean it up by writing plainly, truthfully, and transparently.

Third(liest), I intend to evaluate the culture in which we live.  Movies, music, and current events all fall into this portion of purpose.  We are all influenced by the world around us, and I want to address areas that I believe impact our humanity.

Fourth(iest), I want to provoke a response from you.  I want you to respond to what I write.  I want to hear from you.  I want to know that I’m not sending myself letters in the mail.  Write back.

Fifth(fully), lastly, but not leastly, I aim to entertain.  Hopefully this happens in every post.  Tastefully in the more serious posts.  I want to have a good time writing, and I want you to have a good time reading.  It will keep this whole thing going.

The purpose of this post on purpose was to remind myself and educate you as to why we are here, writing and reading this blog.  If you have any comments, please send them my way.  I love to hear from anyone who takes the time to pick up anything that I put down.

Posted on July 4, 2011, in Everything Else and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The purpose of this post is to let you know that I like reading your blog. I like how you write on a number of topics, from the super silly and downright ridiculous to the serious and substantial matters of the heart and soul. I promise that if you keep writing, I’ll keep reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

