Pet Owners and Their Skewed Perception of Cleanliness

This may be my cutest and most controversial post to date.

I believe that in general, or, to put it another way, in large part, pet owners have learned to live at a level of cleanliness that is below the majority of non-pet owners.  They have allowed animals to walk on their carpets, sleep in their beds, and shed hair like Sampson with a crush.  For today’s discussion I am focusing on the two main types of pets, cats and dogs.  So if you have fish or a turtle, you can just sit back without a care in your clean chair.

Here is a real-life story that should serve to illustrate my point.  I won’t mention any names.

I knew someone who had a dog.  This dog was beloved and treated as a member of the family.  I cared for this dog, even though he seemed to want to kill me every time I saw him.  He had heart, and I believe we had an understanding.  Anyway, this dog was allowed to rest on one of the couches in the living room.

The lady of the house believed in cleanliness.  She hired a maid to come by the house once a week to vacuum, dust, and generally keep the place sparkling.  I will say that the house has always been kept in good order.  But they had a dog.  And this dog had hair.

One day the lady of the house noticed that I was not sitting on the couch.  She asked me about it.  I responded that I noticed the couch was loaded with dog hair, and I didn’t want it to get all over my clothes.  She appeared shocked and troubled by this.  How could a house devoted to cleanliness have a piece of furniture too dirty to sit on comfortably?  The answer is a skewed perception of cleanliness.

If someone lives on or near a farm with cows, chances are they will eventually develop a greater tolerance to the smell of manure.  A passerby will get punched in the nose by the odor, but those subjected to the smells on a daily basis will grow increasingly numb to it.  It’s incredible what human beings can adapt to.

When you take a furry animal into your home, you are accepting a decreased level of cleanliness.  Fur (or hair, or any thin strands of animal) will cling to everything.  You might fight the good fight with dusters and vacuums, but in the end you will lose.  Hair will continue to poke into the fibers, and dander will float around until it enters your nostrils.  Eventually, constant exposure and love for your pet will blind you from the unclean reality.  Your tolerance for filth will increase out of necessity.

Your perception becomes skewed.

And people won’t want to sit on your couches.

 

Posted on July 24, 2011, in Everything Else and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thats fine I dont want people sitting on my couch anyway. I love my little dog haha.

  2. Hey I know that lady!

    We had the dog put down because it botherd Dave .

  3. A few words come to mind-snob,uptight! It’s not like it’s shit. The point is as long as your cleaning and trying to remove hair that’s fine.Sounds to me this person is ocd and has perfection issues. It’s funny how they talked about the perception of the pet owner but totally missed their own bizarre perception! Tell me do u think a vet has a pet? Most likely a vet is an animal lover and does. Dr.s know about the importance of cleanliness do u think a little fur will freak them out- I think not. Here is a thought get a training mat for the couch AND a pet cover u can remove when humans want to sit. Don’t let your pet on your couch and get plenty of beds. Good luck teaching cats to stay off though. Even with training mats they do as they plese. Pets are wonderful companions and dogs are usually loyal. I’d rather the company of a pet than a snob like this. You wouldn’t be welcome even in my yard that is clean but not good enough for your uptight crazy self! Here is a thought don’t have kids or a girlfriend I’d be worried they wouldn’t be clean enough for you!

Leave a Reply

