Speaking for the Victims of Progress

Those who call themselves progressives (liberals) are almost universally in favor of a woman’s right to choose.  They are pro-choice.  This is not a controversial statement.  Perhaps there are some liberal Democrats in this country that are pro-life, and for that reason I had to qualify my statement with “almost”.  Sweeping statements are a surefire way to close people’s ears and eyes.  That’s the last thing I intend to do here.

A while back I wrote about abortion (see An Inflammatory Issue: Abortion).  If you’ve read it you’ll notice that I made a great effort to control my passion for the sake of presenting my case.  But, after reflecting on it I realize that to speak about such a monumental loss of life without fiery passion is entirely a waste of everyone’s time.  It must be possible to be both reasonable and passionate.

Before I continue, I’d like to remind you that over 45 million abortions have occurred legally in the United States since Roe V Wade in 1973.    The population of Massachusetts was about 6.5 million in 2009.  The population of the United States was about 300 million in 2009.  That means that about 7 times the population of Massachusetts has been aborted and nearly 1/6 the total population of the entire United States.  In just 38 years.  How high will the number be  in 50 years?  How about 100 years?  Does it even matter anymore?  Have you become numb to these figures?  Or is your political and personal stance on pro-choice solid enough to support this holocaust?  Isn’t it amazing what a good rationale can do for the conscience?

Often we have heard that it is a woman’s right to choose what she does with her own body.  Absolutely, a woman has the same rights as men under the Constitution.  But what about her baby?  Is a baby something like a tumor that spontaneously generates inside of the woman’s womb?  Or, is a baby just as much the father’s as it is the mother’s while forming inside of her?  What happens when a man wants to keep the child and the woman chooses to abort it?  Does he have rights?  I know this must sound like ignorant blasphemy to some of my more liberal readers, but it’s at least worthy of thoughtful consideration.  Do we as fathers have to submit to the will of the mothers until the mother either chooses to keep it or the government steps in to say you have to keep it?  A woman’s right to choose life or death for her offspring is supported by the law.  That law came out of a decision that determined that fetuses up to a certain point are not alive, and therefore have no protection under the Constitution.  The Constitution, you see, only protects those who deserve protection.  It can do nothing for the most helpless among us.  Some speak of the Constitution as if it were Divine Law, or God himself.  I couldn’t submit my life to an entity who chooses not to protect the innocent, the weak, and the voiceless. My God is not evil.

I have heard it said that pro-choice is not pro-abortion.  The reasoning behind it being that the individual would never personally choose abortion, but they support another individual’s right to do so.  At first glance it seems to make at least some sense.  But then you think a little harder and you realize that it is not only irrational, but also the ultimate manifestation of the belief in subjective relative truth.

If you are pro-choice, you are pro- abortion.  Just like if you didn’t like the slave trade in 18th century England, but supported the trader’s right to earn a living.  They can choose to be slave traders if they want, but you will have no part of it.  How do you feel about that?  Something is detestable, and you choose not to stand against it because you’ve decided that freedom trumps human dignity.  We look back at our ancestors in disgust, but what would they say about us?  How barbaric and inhumane.

We live in an age full of truths with no Truth.  It is full of purposes with no Purpose.  Everything is subjective, and nothing is absolute.  The freedom of the individual is paramount.  As long as you’re not hurting anybody, you can do what you like and believe what you like.  But here’s the problem.  The beliefs of many progressive-minded people in our country are leading to actions that have hurt many millions.  I’m so tired of hearing and reading about how dangerous the beliefs of evangelical Christians are in this country.  For the love of God, let no true Christian enter public office or they will poison the system with their terrifying Truth!  Meanwhile, kind-hearted well-intentioned progressives are believing in abortion on demand and 45 million beings that would have been just like you and me are erased from existence.

The victims of progress cry out to me.

Posted on August 14, 2011, in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Honestly, I get what you’re saying. But when people talk about how many lives were ended and would’ve grown up just like me, that honestly scares me more than looking at the numbers that are missing. Do we really need that many millions of people in the world in this mess?? The economy, overpopulation, limited resources, pollution, enemployment, overcrowded classrooms and cities, the list goes on and on as to why I don’t exactly feel devastated that we’re short a bunch of people. And the fact that your sister encounters so many women who have had countless abortions, that is not so typical as you make it sound. I can only dream of the kind of women that are completely irresponsible with their bodies to get pregnant that many times, and I would assume they had at least one or more stds. That’s not something you can generalize towards all women who would have an abortion, because I’m fairly certain not all women are strippers, prostitutes, or just plain dumb and can’t use a condom properly.

    When my mother was my age, she had two kids already, was almost too broke to afford canned soup, and then a year later became pregnant with my fathers child. She had an abortion because she was poor with two children, and didn’t foresee a future with my father. They broke up, months later got back together, and then became pregnant with me. She kept me because they planned on getting married, and she took it as a sign. But we lived on soup and sandwiches for six years. She had to go on public assitance when she divorced my father, and I have no idea how we survived. I can’t blame her for getting rid of her pregnancy before mine, because when I ask her about what shed do if I were to become pregnant, she says she wouldn’t tell me to abort it, but shed strongly suggest it. She loves us and we all turned out alright in the end, but she missed out on being able to be a twentysomething and go to college for us. She’s lucky she was able to keep us because she was so far behind. When I think I almost ended up in foster care or homeless because she struggled that badly, there is nothing in my mind that makes me disagree with teens who get abortions. I also don’t think teens should be having sex, but that’s another argument entirely. There’s another root to that problem which is cultural and relevant to sex education in most of the country.

    When I go home to millbury, I know a lot of girls that have or are havong babies whpm I graduated with. I thank god every day that I got out of that town and that I won’t end up like them. Many would say I’m not a real christian for saying this, but I don’t care what people think of me. I just know if I had been one of the girls from my town, and had to think about being stuck there and having a baby that I really didn’t want or could afford, that’s just mean to my kid to bring them into the world when I don’t think I could properly care for them. At the absolute least I would more than likely give it up for adoption if I hadn’t gotten an abortion.

    Again, you have good reasons and your beliefs aren’t wrong, but most women have good reasons in my opinion. I would also wonder how you felt about rape or incest pregnanciesc, which absolutely are appauling to me when people say its the same and there’s no excuse for abortion in that case.

  2. The incidence of repeat abortions is very high. I have been a labor and delivery nurse for 10 years so I feel I can speak with some degree of authority on this unfortunate subject. Although I have encountered more than a few women who have had 4 or more abortions, they are not the majority. There are, however, a large number of women who have had 2 abortions and they are not strippers, prostitutes, etc….
    Is this what the pro-choice movement had in mind when they pushed for legalized abortion? The fact of the matter is that the vast majority of abortions are being performed as a means of birth control. That is the harsh reality.

  1. Pingback: On Gay Marriage « Thoughts of a Post-Grad TwentySomething

Leave a Reply

